FREE STANDARD SHIPPING & RETURNS ON ALL FOOTWEAR ORDERS
FREE STANDARD SHIPPING & RETURNS ON ALL FOOTWEAR ORDERS
Wingshooter product photo
Wingshooter product photo
Wingshooter product photo
Wingshooter product photo
Wingshooter product photo

  • Zoom
  • Wingshooter product photo
  • Wingshooter product photo
  • Wingshooter product photo
  • Wingshooter product photo
  • Wingshooter product photo
  • Wingshooter product video
Style 896

Wingshooter

Ankle support and insulation in a cold weather upland boot.

$219.99 USD
Technology Snapshot Learn More
Waterproof Icon Waterproof
UltraDry™
Insulation Icon Insulation
400g 3M™ Thinsulate™ Ultra

Medium (D): 7 | 7.5 | 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14

Wide (EE): 7 | 7.5 | 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please select a size

Added To Cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Wingshooter

Wingshooter

Style 896

$219.99 USD

Backordered
This item will ship in 2-4 weeks.
This item is in stock

Cart Subtotal ( Items)
View Cart
×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
Free standard shipping and free returns on all orders.
SHARE THIS PAGE:
  • About
  • Tech Specs
  • Care Options
  • Shipping & Returns
Wingshooter

Crafted for the most demanding bird hunter, our Wingshooter boots feature a full-grain, waterproof leather upper, combined with our UltraDry™ technology for complete weatherproofing. Our Prairie sole reduces weight, provides underfoot cushioning and provides excellent traction in any upland terrain.


The Wingshooter 896 features these technologies:

UltraDry™ Waterproofing System

Our UltraDry™ construction combines a moisture management lining with waterproof components for dry, long-lasting comfort and performance.

3M™ Thinsulate™

The ultimate insulation for cold weather boots, 3M™ Thinsulate™ Ultra Insulation is thin, warm and lightweight, with the durability to withstand long hours of hard wear and keep feet warm even in damp conditions.

Style 896
Wingshooter Wingshooter
Technical Specs

Upper:

Full Grain, Waterproof Leather

Waterproof:

UltraDry™

Insulation:

400g 3M™ Thinsulate™ Ultra

Height:

9-inch

Weight:

4 lbs. 8 oz.

Lining:

Moisture Wicking Nylon

Counter:

Heel-Molded

Footbed:

Removable Polyurethane

Shank:

Steel

Outsole:

Prairie - White

Construction:

Goodyear Leather Welt

Last:

325

Sizes:

Medium (D): 7 | 7.5 | 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14

Wide (EE): 7 | 7.5 | 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14

Care Options

It's well known that proper care and routine maintenance will extend the life of our cars or homes. The same holds true for premium boots. Get the most out of your Irish Setter boots by following our recommended three step process of cleaning, conditioning and protecting them with products designed specifically for that purpose.

A well-prepped, clean surface enhances success when applying conditioners and protectants to your footwear. To clean any of our waterproof leather footwear, you can simply use water and a clean cloth. We recommend Essential Leather Cleaner for our non-waterproof leather boots.

NaturSeal™ is the best performer for conditioning waterproof leather boots. NaturSeal™ is a leading-edge conditioning formula which uses breakthrough technology to penetrate waterproof leather, enhancing breathability and pliability. If you prefer to use a wax instead of a liquid, we recommend our Original Mink Oil Paste. To condition oil tanned leather footwear, we recommend the Original Mink Oil Paste or All Natural Boot Oil.

Our Essential Leather Protector creates an invisible shield of protection for leather and fabric, and is recommended as the final step in our care process.

To ensure your rubber footwear stays in good condition wipe or spray with lukewarm water after use and allow to dry naturally. If soap is required for additional cleaning, we recommend using a non-scented soap. Store all footwear in a cool, dry, location avoiding direct contact with any heat source, extreme cold or sunlight.

By taking time for proper care of your footwear, you'll not only notice better performance in the field, but your Irish Setter boots will last longer too.

Shipping

Free standard shipping

We offer free standard shipping so that the boots will be there in time for your hunting trip or work day. Click here for details on these options.

Returns

Easy Returns. Guaranteed.

It’s simple, really. We want you perfectly happy with your Irish Setter boots, and our return/refund policy reflects that desire. If your boots don’t fit or don’t meet your needs, in most cases we’ll take them back, refund your money, and pay for the shipping. For details on our return/exchange policy, click on Learn More.

  • Product Reviews

Product Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buyer beware I've had these boots for 2 years, only wearing them in the winter or mostly when it's wet outside. They still look good although they do scratch very easily, they've had waterproofing put on them per the manufacturers instructions and have been treated very well yet my feet are soaked everyday now. I've put waterproofing material on them multiple times as did Red Wing. I took them back to Red Wing and they said the waterproofing is only warrantied for 6 mo and that Red Wing brand boots are only for a year. If your intention is to have dry feet or something durable I would not buy these boots. My Red Wing boots now leak as well after being treated exactly how they say they should be. So you think buying in the USA and spending $200+ on boots would get you something quality and it does not. I will not be going back to Red Wing anymore, which is a shame seeing as I've bought 5 pairs over the years, my cousin and uncle both wear them now along with countless people in the construction industry I have recommended Red Wings too. No more...
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got a deal on a great pr of boots Picked up a pr of these off a guy in Craigslist that wore them 2x and he didn't like them. I've always worn Red Wings and these were a great find.. Very comfortable, liked the color and sole is very comfortable. Whether you get them used or buy new ones, they're a great work boot and look great even just on weekends with jeans ...
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the Same Boot My second pair. The first I had for five years, loved them, wore them out. The leather on the second pair seems to be of lower quality. The bigger problem is that the sole is like a hard piece of plastic, which makes them almost useless when it’s cold out.
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great for the banquet but not the field! I typically wear Rocky boots and thought I would give the "wingshooter" a shot! After two hunts in SD the boot leather began to peel. The boots were exposed to dry hunt the 1st outing and then a typical late season hunt in SD, a little snow, mud & water. For the money, not worth it. They looked great out of the box, therefore I recommend wearing them for indoors/banquets not the fields.
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Looking Boot-But This is the most expensive pair of boots I ever bought-$150. Value, is usually my top priority but these were one of the better looking boots I saw, and as a treat to myself I bought them. People did notice them, and commented about their appearance but they are not durable. My intent was to wear them on my job ( I load trucks and make deliveries ) but I wound up just wearing them on weekends because if I had worn them on the job, there is no doubt that with in a year they would have been worn out and need to be replaced. When I wore them on the weekends it was only after several months, that when it rained, moisture already would start to penetrate the surface just above, where your toes are. I would not rule out buying another pair of red wings but not at full price, if their on sale than I would consider it, but it just seems to me their over priced and your paying too much for the brand name.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money There amazing I just wish They lasted more then a year Every year I replace them
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great upland boot I recently bought my first pair of wingshooters for a Maine grouse trip. I had no time to break them in and they were comfortable the entire trip. This past weekend I walked a total of 10 miles in two days pheasant hunting and my feet were comfortable the entire time. One of the days it rained all day and my feet stayed dry. Great boots!!
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Boot Great fit Boots look good and were comfortable right out of the box. Only question is what is the maintainance program. Purchased at a box store and the clerk did not have a clue. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Shoe polish or cream, mink or other leather oils??
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot! I'm so glad this boot became available again. I've had 2 pairs and they've been great. Very comfortable, durable, and I love the way they wear.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for the dollar At about 2# each boot these boots are a little heavy for grouse hunting. They'd make great work boots. Durable and comfortable. The tops when laced up have a little too much of a gap allowing debris to get down inside. Wear heavy socks for this reason and because they run a little big for their size.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots I was doing a lot of work outside, and decided the hiking boots just weren't cutting it. I bought a pair of Wingshooters, and what a difference! Comfortable out of the box I have pretty wide feet, and I'm very picky about footwear. If it isn't comfortable, I'm not wearing it. I think I wore these boots for at least 8 hours on the second day. I had foot pain after about 4 hours in the old boots. I can easily do 12 hours straight in these with no pain at all. I've worn them in snow, rain, mud, even swamps, and my feet stay dry. They're a bit big for everyday use, but for working, thay're fantastic. I was worried about the soles, but they've lasted six months so far with no problems. I beat the heck out of them, and the uppers no longer look brand new, but they're holding up well.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort,style,and durability. I've worn Red wings my entire career, as a commercial carpenter, I recently purchased these Irish Setters,after I was informed they were the top selling work boot, I wasn't let down, 1st, comfort is a must,and am pleased tp rate these boots 5 star, 2nd, the finger pull on the boot stays in a loop making it easier to get my finger in there and pullthem on,doesnt close up or sag, 3rd, these boots not only give you comfort,but lets other guys on the job know " This guy cares about his feet,and back",as we often look at coworkers gear, from bags, tools, to boots,commands a sort of respect. On rough terrain in years of concrete im relying on these boots to get me through a 10,12,hour shift. Thanks, and if you have any doubts about purchasing these...dont,your feet,and back will thank you.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Feels like it's made out of a rubber football Had a pair of these that I purchased 4 years ago that I loved but wore out. Went to my local red wing store yesterday to get another pair to replace them. The pair he brought out felt and looked like it was made out of synthetic leather with a pebbly finish. Really, they feel like a cheap rubber football. He assured me that they are leather and I bought them, but think I'm going to take them back and look for another brand. I have hunted pheasant for 40 years and Irish setters were always an aspirational brand. Now that I can afford exactly what I want, it's sad that they have cheapened them up.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from try them on in person Don't order without first trying them on in person. I have two other pair of Redwing boots (815's and 411's that fit unbelievably comfortable from day one) that are the same size and built around the same last (325) and these 839's were very snug (uncomfortably) in both length and especially the width. They required to be water soaked and worn and then oiled heavily and worn some more before stretching enough that they are no longer painfully tight in width (over 4 months time). That said, I love the way they look and they are well built, fantastic knock around boots. It was a lesson learned about the sizing. For heavy activity and work I will be sticking with my lace up boots due to their superior ankle support.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 894 Great Boot- Love them, but they have limits The 894 boot is great, most iron workers use the 894 or 877, and their hard on equipment. But I can tell you, they do become a little slippery unlike the 877. But, what do you expect it's an upland game boot it's built for bird hunting. The first time I bought this boot the Red Wing dealer specifically told me the boot is not designed for welding and fabrication, but I didn't care. The boot is so comfortable, waterproof, and if you get the Thinsulate their warm. I used the 877 classics for years, but, in the winter your feet get cold The bottom line, get a boot for your work environment. Red Wings are great it's the only boot I buy.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They worked well for upland bird hunting in 0-20 degree weather. Comfortable for an oversized, heavy boot. One issue. I really liked the boots. They were comfortable out of the box, which is rare. They provided enough cushion and insulation to keep my feet warm and dry during a 2-day goose hunt. My only issue was the stupid laces. The first morning, while lacing them up, a lace broke off, about 8 inches from the tip. I had to relace the boot, and was not able to use the top hooks. No big deal I suppose. They were still comfortable and 100% functional. The second day, the other lace broke off even shorter. I'm not sure what the deal is with the laces, but I would love to see some heavier duty laces come with these boots, as I haven't found replacements yet (although I haven't looked very hard).
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable These things have huge cuts in the leather from my ice auger but i can still plunge them all the way under the water and cross creeks with them no problem. They're durable and comfortable and keep your feet warm even in the coldest temps
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Done with Irish Setter's I bought a pair of Wingshooter 808's last year. When I tried them on in the store I found them to fit a 1/2 size big, not a big deal. I wore them for a month when I was walking my dog during the summer and then started hunting with them in October. By the end of November the boots have stretched out so bad the lace eyelets are touching and I can't get them tight enough. As it sits, when I lace them up I can honestly move my foot and it flops around in the boot. I have never had a pair of boots go from fitting perfect and then stretch out so bad that I can't wear them. I called the Redwing store that I bought them from and was told that they don't warranty Irish Setters and that leather is a uncontrollable natural product. I have never been so disgusted by a product, for the amount these boots cost I expect a lot more. They sat on the self this hunting season, collecting dust. I was looking for a quality Big Game boot and was considering the Elk Tracker, but after this experience I don't even know if I'll buy Red Wings for work anymore.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great work and hunting slippers These boots are excellent. I bought them for hunting and ended up wearing them for work as well. I am a concrete guy and am on my feet all day long in concrete and standing on top of it. Have held up for 2 years and they are still truckin. Awesome boot and great comfort. Reccomend to anybody that does both.
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not waste your money Watch the youtube Jan 2016 video about redwing boots. The quality is poor. This style (wingshooter) claims it is waterproof, but my feet were soaked in 2"of snow after a couple hours. Put me out $200 bucks for junk boots. I find in interesting that the disclaimer for reviews says that redwing may delete or modify reviews...How unfair to the consumer.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not made in USA Bought my Irish Setter Hunt Wingshooter boots with 400 grams insulation. Feeling pretty good about myself for not going to one of the big sport stores. Instead I was at the local Red Wing store, super nice staff. I believed that Red Wing's were made in the USA. While hunting, I looked at the inside of the shoe..."Made in China" Most likely they are high quality, but I don't feel great, I wanted made in USA Red Wings. I might as well have gone to Walmart.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable boot I've ever owned I've had these boots about a year and they are a dream. I've never worn a more comfortable pair of shoes before. They still look basically brand new but I bought some of the Red Wing waterproofing oil and treat my boots 1 to 2 times a month, usually after heavy use or a big storm. The soles are going to need to be replaced soon but I use them so often that a new sole every year isn't that bad. I highly recommend this boot if you just want a great product you can wear every day while still being comfortable! I also got the insoles as well and they have really helped with the pain I used to have when I wore a pair of shoes for a long time.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boots I have had a pair of these boots for about six years that were this same model made from kangaroo skin. These are the best boots I have ever owned. I have resoled them three times from wear and they keep going on as great as ever. Excellent quality and worth every penny.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hearty boots! Fit well, leather cleans up easily after trudging through mud and muck. One broken in are very comfortable. The leather is thick but supple.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for North Dakota Pheasants I bought these specifically for my week long North Dakota pheasant hunt and couldn't have been happier. I had only a week to break them in but didn't really need to. Walked 6-10miles a day in tough terrain but all was good. Worth every penny.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Suck Advertised as work boots at dealer , mind you I walk from van to house as service technician no dirt or strenuous work soles wore slick after 3months and redwing won't cover because of hunt boots give me a break poor pr hr and boots
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots I've Found Bought a pair probably 5 years ago and liked them so much I bought another pair last year. Being retired I hunt grouse and woodcock in Pa and WV in terrain from steep rocky slopes to wet creek bottoms. After miles of walking through greenbrier, barberry, and multiflora rose thickets I can wade shallow creeks with no worries of wet feet. Love these boots.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Would recommend I have worn these boots to mow in, hunt, fish and work in. These have to be the most comfortable boot I have ever bought. The only complaint I have is that the sole is slick, not much traction on some surfaces, I would recommend a little more aggressive lug. Thank you
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm wore this boot for construction for 12 years before resoling.. This is my third pair in thirty one years of wearing red boots. On a good pair of leather boots, especially of this quality are broke in, putting your foot in them is like shaking an old friends hand...it feels just right and comfortable. They absolutely have been the best quality boot I've ever purchased. For half the price boots can get reconditioned. I will not buy another brand.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesomeness! This boot rocks! Comfort factor is super even after hours of wearing. Fits to size (10D) - I always wear a mid-weight wool sock (or some combo of wool and other material). I use these in the field, pheasant hunting, and around the yard. Wife hates it when I head to town in them (means they must be great). I would not use them for hiking as there are other boots better suited. They have held up for three years of constant use with no sign of wear other than appearance. About 2x year, I brush them off with a stiff brush and put leather treatment on them to keep the leather soft and keep them from cracking. I recommend these with two-thumbs up!
Date published: 2016-08-18
  • y_2018, m_4, d_19, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_00896, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_irishsetter

Footwear Size Comparison Chart For Most Common International Systems

USA Men's USA Women's European British MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
  4 33.5 1.5   21
  4.5 34 2   21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5   43.5 9.5 28.5  
11   44 10 29  
11.5   45 10.5 29.5  
12   46 11 30  
13   47 12 31  
14   48 13 32  
15   49 14 33  
16   50 15 34  
×