FREE STANDARD SHIPPING & RETURNS ON ALL FOOTWEAR ORDERS
FREE STANDARD SHIPPING & RETURNS ON ALL FOOTWEAR ORDERS
Trailblazer product photo
Trailblazer product photo
Trailblazer product photo
Trailblazer product photo
Trailblazer product photo

  • Zoom
  • Trailblazer product photo
  • Trailblazer product photo
  • Trailblazer product photo
  • Trailblazer product photo
  • Trailblazer product photo
Style 878

Trailblazer

Waterproof, all-leather hiker.

$184.99 USD
Technology Snapshot Learn More
Waterproof Icon Waterproof
UltraDry™

Medium (D): 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14

Wide (EE): 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14

Please select a size

Added To Cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Trailblazer

Trailblazer

Style 878

$184.99 USD

Backordered
This item will ship in 2-4 weeks.
This item is in stock

Cart Subtotal ( Items)
View Cart
×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
Free standard shipping and free returns on all orders.
SHARE THIS PAGE:
  • About
  • Tech Specs
  • Care Options
  • Shipping & Returns
Trailblazer

At home on a hiking trail, trekking through timber, or working on the Back 40, Trailblazers are an excellent high-performance boot. The uppers feature our UltraDry™ lining and ScentBan™ technology. Our Bulls-Eye® Air Bob Carbon Rubber soles gain traction on rough terrain, thanks to an aggressive lug pattern, while an EVA midsole reduces weight and provides underfoot cushioning.


The Trailblazer 878 features these technologies:

UltraDry™ Waterproofing System

Our UltraDry™ construction combines a moisture management lining with waterproof components for dry, long-lasting comfort and performance.

Style 878
Trailblazer Trailblazer
Technical Specs

Upper:

Full Grain, Waterproof Leather

Waterproof:

UltraDry™

Insulation:

Non-Insulated

Height:

7-inch

Weight:

3 lbs. 9 oz.

Lining:

Moisture Wicking Nylon

Counter:

Heel-Molded

Footbed:

Removable EVA

Shank:

Steel

Outsole:

Bulls-Eye® Air Bob Carbon Rubber

Construction:

Goodyear Leather Welt

Last:

IS-103

Sizes:

Medium (D): 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14

Wide (EE): 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14

Care Options

It's well known that proper care and routine maintenance will extend the life of our cars or homes. The same holds true for premium boots. Get the most out of your Irish Setter boots by following our recommended three step process of cleaning, conditioning and protecting them with products designed specifically for that purpose.

A well-prepped, clean surface enhances success when applying conditioners and protectants to your footwear. To clean any of our waterproof leather footwear, you can simply use water and a clean cloth. We recommend Essential Leather Cleaner for our non-waterproof leather boots.

NaturSeal™ is the best performer for conditioning waterproof leather boots. NaturSeal™ is a leading-edge conditioning formula which uses breakthrough technology to penetrate waterproof leather, enhancing breathability and pliability. If you prefer to use a wax instead of a liquid, we recommend our Original Mink Oil Paste. To condition oil tanned leather footwear, we recommend the Original Mink Oil Paste or All Natural Boot Oil.

Our Essential Leather Protector creates an invisible shield of protection for leather and fabric, and is recommended as the final step in our care process.

To ensure your rubber footwear stays in good condition wipe or spray with lukewarm water after use and allow to dry naturally. If soap is required for additional cleaning, we recommend using a non-scented soap. Store all footwear in a cool, dry, location avoiding direct contact with any heat source, extreme cold or sunlight.

By taking time for proper care of your footwear, you'll not only notice better performance in the field, but your Irish Setter boots will last longer too.

Shipping

Free standard shipping

We offer free standard shipping so that the boots will be there in time for your hunting trip or work day. Click here for details on these options.

Returns

Easy Returns. Guaranteed.

It’s simple, really. We want you perfectly happy with your Irish Setter boots, and our return/refund policy reflects that desire. If your boots don’t fit or don’t meet your needs, in most cases we’ll take them back, refund your money, and pay for the shipping. For details on our return/exchange policy, click on Learn More.

  • Product Reviews

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent hunting & hiking boot Well made, comfortable, durable. I've had these boots for 5 months and love them. The soles are holding up well to everyday use. The large floor board helps in stability on rough trails and holding bindings of ice cleats and snow shoes.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Comfortable NOT waterproof, at least for my job. I move trailers at a busy warehouse. In and out of the truck ALOT. They we're fine for about 3 weeks. My socks are wet after a few hours on the job. I've oiled and sprayed to no avail.
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot ever. I have found boots hard to find that look good and feel comfortable. These boots hit the mark! I love the look and feel! I figured I'd have to break them in but they were comfortable and stayed comfortable all day every day. I am a extremely pleased customer.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots I've Ever Owned I am 5'7" and weigh 200lbs. I work on concrete all day at work. My feet take a beating every day. I had absolutely no break-in period at all. I cannot believe how comfortable these were right out of the box. I thought I would only be able to wear them for the extent of the work day, wrong. I put them on at about 6:30am and don't take them off until about 10:00pm. I thought they would be heavy, wrong. I barely know they are there. I thought my feet would hurt by the end of the day, wrong. I added some of the Red Wing inserts, perfect! I wear them every day including Saturday. I don't even bother with my tennis shoes anymore. I would wear them to Church on Sunday if my wife would let me, I'm kinda afraid to ask! They are sturdy and rugged but so very comfortable. I recommend them to everyone.
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hiking Boots from Park Ranger As a park ranger, I'm hiking and walking many miles of trail as part of my job. These boots are the most comfortable and rugged I've ever owned. If my wife would allow, I would wear them all night until I'm ready for bed. Very comfortable. The leather wears great and does not wear out or tear. The sole offers great traction however I tend to wear out the soles after a year or so. If I had one improvement to offer, it would be to use more durable soles. I have three worn out pairs sitting on a shelf in my garage. My next trip might be to shoe repair shop to re-sole all three.
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boot. I work nights in a warehouse, I'm walking and driving equipment on concrete floors for 10 to 12 hours a night. These boots hold up great and are comfortable. My only problem is that they stopped making them in black.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots I love these boots. They keep your feet dry and warm.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All time favorite boot, just takes a few steps to get there. I changed 3 minor things on these before they became my all time favorite boot. 1. is obvious but removed the dangly tie thing under the lases. Looks to western for me, nice that you can take them off. 2. Upgraded the laces to bright red Kevlar boot laces, ones it came with leave something to be desired. 3. Most important was I bought the RedWing heat molded insoles and they made all the difference in comfort during traveling excessive distances. They are very comfortable now and people are always asking me what brand they are.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Boot For Appalachian Bird Hunting I just ordered my 4th pair of the Trialblazers, so that means I like them. They fit well, protect the ankles, do what they're supposed to do. I hunt Appalachian grouse so that means a lot of extreme climbing, sidehilling, and wear and tear on the uppers from briars, barbed wire, etc. The bob soles hold up well for me in the soft leaves and soil of the Appalachians, but I can only get a couple of seasons out of the uppers until the waterproofing fails, the leather tears, and the toe rubs through. I think it's more a testament to how rough I am on boots, rather than any failing of the product.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good comfortable Boot, soles could be better I do a lot of hiking and photography in Colorado and these boots are really great. They fit well and are comfortable to wear. The traction of the soles is far superior to most conventional hiking boots. I find myself wearing them most of the time, out hiking or otherwise. Only issue I have is the soles seem to be a little sub par. Could use more durability in that regard. Looking at resoling.
Date published: 2016-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great all around boot I have bought 3 pairs of these style boots and also a pair of the 12" 1000g thinsulate pair for winter use. I love the boots for what I do for work, walking in Right-of-Ways and hiking up mountains. comfortable from the start. I still wear a pair that are 3yrs old and have no more soles. they are my last pair that are insulated with 400g. one thing I wish they had were still the 400g insulated and also possibly make it as a safety toe. Now have to look for a safety toe work boot and so far, just because of the sole and tread on these boots, I've been looking for weeks at different style boots. I might have to go to a hiking safety toe boot now.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable, good looking, durable (so far) I've only had these boots for a month, but I wear them five days a week for work in the outdoors. Sometimes I'm hiking through very tough rocks and brush, other times through cow fields or just dirt, and these boots are great! To give you a comparison, the few days that I had to wear Vasque trail hikers, my feet hurt because of the flexible sole and I had dirt and stickers in my shoe. I tried combat boots, miserable and sole missing lugs after a single day. I bought $200 all-leather Vasque (with molded sole) which were literally falling apart after 1.5 days of use. The store actually took them back and couldn't believe I could tear up boots that fast. These were comfortable right out of the box. Waterproof, and good traction. I've worn them for at least 20 days in the field. The toes show some scuffs and the soles are missing a total of four lugs, but other than that, they are really holding up well. I think I'll get a couple years of daily wear- definitely like the old Danner quality boots. These boots are so awesome that I just bought the 12" Elk Hunters 600g today, for when I have to slog through snow, sleet and mud.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall Good Boot Love the style and has a good fit my only complaint is when I am standing in place for a long time I can feel the waffling in the foot bed more over in the heal area. Bought some inter soles which helped. The first day my feet were buried in concrete, sprayed them down with a hose, brushed them off with a wet shoe brush another rinse and they were go to go.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice Boot! Bought these boots for an early season elk hunt. Very comfortable right out of the box. No break in period. Keep my feet dry and warm even without insulation. I even wore these in rifle season in PA. My only complaint (small one) is after my Colorado hunt the exterior of the boots really took a beating. They looked like they were three years old rather than three weeks? Maybe soft leather? I have a five year old pair of Gunflint's and the leather does not even look near that bad. Whatever the reason it will not deter me from buying another pair for this years hunt for I like these so much I am wearing them to work!
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality leather, sole quality below par Had these boots for a year+, and since I wear boots almost everyday these were put to test. Excellent fit, and good quality leather - with minimal conditioning they will last you forever. To this day I can trek across a creek, boot deep, and have dry socks at the end of the day. Comfortable enough to wear all day. High scuff resistance. I would love these boots if only the outer-sole was as half as good as the leather. The "knobs" wear out quite faster than any other brand boots I have owned. I could accept wear and tear on high impact areas like heel or toe tips but it appears that the whole sole surface disappears quite fast. Also, the inner lining on the back of the heel wore through on both boots quite quickly as well, however that has zero impact on comfort or performance of the boots. Terrain: Rocky outdoor / Wetlands / Pavement
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent boots for everyday wearing I bought these boots a month ago an I was very impressed with comfort as soon as I put them on an even a week later still impressed. Waterproof is very good very pleased with these boots. II recommend these boots to everyone who is looking for a good everyday boot.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good all round boot. I bought my boots two years ago and use them primarily for winter cycling in temperatures as low as -25C. They have kept me warm on all occasions. Additionally, the waterpoofing has worked very well. The sole has now worn down, and I would like to find a location to re-sole them as they are worth keeping.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good boot overall, but not the most durable I bought these boots mostly for work since I do a lot of hiking off trail at work. They felt great at first, then the right boot started to rub my outside ankle. I put some padding inside my boot there and they broke in enough to not rub in a few days. The leather upper is holding up quite well. I have been very pleased at times with the waterproofing, such as days when they kept my feet dry while I was walking around for a few hours in rocky prairie that was half covered in 1-2 inches of standing water. Other times, my feet have become damp fairly quickly in wet grass, which seems to be common for waterproof boots. The soles are wearing out pretty quickly for me; after 15 months half of the round center lugs have torn off and the rest of the tread is worn down, rounded, and chunking--I do wear them all day for work hiking in rocky, mountainous areas during much of the year. If you were using them on weekends or just for hunting, they would probably last for years. Mine seem to have stretched, possibly from getting them wet a lot, so I would maybe get them slightly smaller, but they are mostly true to size.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An awesome boot, but.... To be simple, I love these boots. But, much like the other comment I read, the inside of the boot fell apart. I'm in the market again for this type of boot, but is nearly $200 for the boots going to give me some long range satisfaction? Aside from that, the boots are amazing.
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable. I wear model "Trailblazer" boots primarily in the winter. As a truck driver I'm not standing outside but need dry and comfortable when I have to chain up or while hooking sets in snowy locations. I've had mine for about 3 years and still love them. The sole is wearing thin and a little bit of the stitching near the bottom of the laces is coming apart. The store where I bought them could resole them for $80 and will resew them if I had time to take them in. I've had cheap boots but hated them. I won't buy anything but these now.
Date published: 2015-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Put them on for a hunt. Walked 3 miles and kept them on the rest of the day, very comfortable, plus sock dry even though it rained most of day. Started morning with a 3 mile walk, first time I wore boots. Kept on the rest of day. Very comfortable. When I sprayed them off with hose at end of day sock completely dry.
Date published: 2015-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort I bought these boots a couple years back. Couldn't be happier with the comfort, fit, and performance in any weather or terrain. I wear these from Fall to Spring time. They still keep my feet dry, warm, and although worn down a bit...still plenty of traction in the soles. My boots are still in good condition on the OUTSIDE. The INSIDE HEEL area is another story, it started wearing away slowly after a few months and the material has finally worn through enough to become VERY uncomfortable now on my heels as you can imagine. I wish Irish Setter would toughen up the inside linings to last as long as the rest of the boot. Until then I cant see spending this money for only 2 seasons use.
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my favorite boot. best traction ever I'm a trucker that delivers fuel. pulling a hose [think fire, not garden] at times 150 feet, traction is important to me. I may be at a rock quarry, farm, factory, or front yard, so I see all types of terrain and weather. I've been wearing these boots for about 6 months and they are holding up well. Waterproofing is great. No wet feet for me any more. I haven't worn them in the winter, so I can't comment on snow traction, yet. These are a very comfortable boot too! I've owned southern state named boots that cost less up front, but no more. Irish setter, red wings for me.
Date published: 2015-09-18
  • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_00878, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_irishsetter

Footwear Size Comparison Chart For Most Common International Systems

USA Men's USA Women's European British MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
  4 33.5 1.5   21
  4.5 34 2   21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5   43.5 9.5 28.5  
11   44 10 29  
11.5   45 10.5 29.5  
12   46 11 30  
13   47 12 31  
14   48 13 32  
15   49 14 33  
16   50 15 34  
×